Making the most of academic conferences

Another thoughtful blog by Weekademia. Good suff.

Weekademia

“Been there, done that.” #2

‘Been there, done that’ posts are where I share experiences, mistakes, life lessons and advice primarily for students and early career researchers.

I stumbled upon an interesting blog series this week by a PhD student, Owl_Meat, on “Harsh truths and bad conferences” (part 1, part 2 and part 3).

“Conferences can be terrible.”

I have been there, done that.  I have been the awkward poster tube hauling lonely academic wondering who on Earth will come and visit my poster and who I can find to have lunch with.  Whilst I agree there is room for improvement in conference organisation and social events etc., I am not sure the traditional academic conference format is entirely to blame.  In hindsight, I could have been more proactive to make the most of those early awkward conferences.  So whilst we wait for innovative improvements (and I hope they come), here are…

View original post 882 more words

Leave a Reply

