A most monumental academic cock-up

Lovely post, a lesson for us all!

Weekademia

“Been there, done that.” #1

‘Been there, done that’ posts are where I share experiences, mistakes, life lessons and advice primarily for students and early career researchers.

Lately my twitter and blog reader are inundated with chatter about end of year exams and graduation.  So this week I’m going to tell you the story of my most monumental academic cock-up…

Upon graduating from my BSc degree I was something like 2% away from a 1st and was called in for a viva for the opportunity to be upgraded.  The only problem was that I was 6,000 miles away at the time; here:

IM000120.JPG

I don’t quite remember how this happened. I booked a trip for after my exams but realised later it was before the official end of the year (I swear this date was hidden deep in the small print).  I was not the only one; someone else ended up hugely out of pocket rearranging their holiday on the…

View original post 205 more words

Leave a Reply

